Start a new topic

Where does money "go" in multi-contract markets resolving to "no"

I'm new to this, so I'd just like to understand.

Basic example, let's say There are 5 choices in a multi-contract market. I participate in 4 of them, and all 4 resolve to NO, so I earn nothing.

Where does the money for all 4 choices actually go? Does it just kind of vanish off the site, or does the winner collect it somehow?

Sorry if this seems naive, I'm new to trading and such.

Thanks!

1 person likes this idea

Am curious about the same thing. 

So I answered my own question a few weeks ago, but didn't publish it here. Here is how it works.

It's important to get this... this is something I didn't really understand and was subsequently confusing me.

Was your individual bet correct? Forget about "yes" and "no" and all that. Simply think "was my individual bet correct when the market closed?"

If it was correct, you earn money. If it wasn't correct, you earn no money - the other person who bet correctly on that choice gets the money. 

Just think of it as two people who come to a betting table, you and me. We make a bet "will it rain tonight?"

I put forth $0.40, you put down $0.60. This adds up to a dollar in the center of the table. 

If I turn out to be correct, I take the dollar in the center of the table. If you turn out to be correct, you take the dollar. Whomever is right, wins.

So the money doesn't "go" anywhere - someone simply wins it! That's how simple it is.

Now, on multi-contract markets, it works the same way with an important tweak:

Only one of the answers in a multi-contract market can resolve to YES, the rest must resolve to NO

So if there are 5 choices in a multi-contract market, only one of those choices will resolve to YES when the market closes. 

This means the rest of the other four answers will resolve to NO.